Morocco Reviews

Review 1

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The amazing variety of scenery in Morocco; the welcome felt from the people was summed up in the trek we undertook, on camels, across the Sahara to our nomad camp. Unforgettable!

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Our leader Abdu, was amazing. He was so helpful, informative and funny and we got a great sense that we were in a safe pair of hands! The trip was really well organised and went off without a hitch -nothing was too much trouble!

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Bring plenty of immodium!!!

Reviewed by Karen Hamill who travelled in September 2002

Review 2

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

It was all memorable and exciting,Accomodation good,walking in the mountains quite tough for a 59 year old, not remarkbly fit lady,but the scenery was amazing’ Marakesh was great fun pretty crazy,but fun crazy,had a wonderful time,would recommend this trip toanyone who enjoys peaceful,unspoilt countryside.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Tour leader was good

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Take good walking shoes or boots and a stick,make sure your insurance covers helicopter rescue,just in case!

Reviewed by Wendy Cronk who travelled in June 2012

Review 3

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Highlights were camping in the Sahara, viewing the sand dunes at sunset, and meandering inside the Fez medina. What was also memorable: spectacular canyons & high desert scenery in Eastern Morocco; afternoon hikes thru the rural villages, abandoned kasbahs, and lush fields amidst the desert.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Yussef was INCREDIBLE. He took care of us and frequently asked for our feedback on the different hotels and activities. He freely offered info on Moroccan culture, people, or place we were to visit. Logistics seemed well organized and hand-offs to local guides went smoothly. In particular, I appreciate that Yussef went out of his way when I left my eye glasses in the Meknes hotel- and he ran from the train station to fetch them, knowing he could have missed the train. Fortunately, he came back with my glasses just as the train was about to leave for Fez!

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Moroccan cuisine is more limited than one would expect, esp for vegetarians where the options are salads, vegetarian tagine, or cous cous. (Yussef informed us up front, which I appreciated.) When walking around solo, single women should arm themselves with a delicate balance of humour, lightness, and firmness. Most Moroccan men are friendly; quite a few overeager (to get your attention or sell you something).

Reviewed by Monica Rodriguez who travelled in April 2012

Review 4

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The visit to the Western Sahara and stting around the campfire, eating beef tagine with a bottle of red wine, you can’t get much better than the Sahara for a restaurant! I would also like to say that the group I was a part of was one of the best groups I have ever travelled with – what a brilliant and funny gang!

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Jamal did a fantastic job and was very informative about everything from culture and history to where to get the best meals from etc. I would also like to mention our drive Yussef as he was always very friendly and helpful too. They both helped make the trip really enjoyable.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Remember to take your thermals and a high rated sleeping bag for the camping overnight in the Western Sahara (especially in the winter months) as it is absolutely freezing! It was almost so cold that I did not enjoy it.

Reviewed by Lynne Morris who travelled in December 2011

Review 5

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Really everything! it’s a lovely first impression of the country. It does go very fast so don’t forget to enjoy it! Highlights are: Souks in Fez, the history told by the local guides, Atlas mountains, traffic in Marrakech, meeting the local people, Food like Tangiya in Marrakech, dancing under the stars in the Sahara, smoking shisha in Todra Gorge (and everywhere else)

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Jamal did a wonderful job. He listened to our questions and focussed on the wishes of the group. Behind the scenes he arranged a lot for us. So, a big thanks to Jamal. There was one person in the group who was a bit selfish, but Jamal handeled it perfectly.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Try to forget your camera and talk to the locals. They are the most lovely people with a great sense of humour. Of course in the souk they try to sell you something, but be polite and smile and have a bit of fun with them. Let go of your beliefs and open yourself to this beautiful country, culture, people and food

Reviewed by Carola Van Der Horst who travelled in October 2011

Review 6

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The Great Mosque at Cassablanca.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

They were all excellant. They told us all that we wanted to know and advised us about the going rate for things at the SOuks. They all displayed an excellant knowlege of the area and in two cases we were being welcomed by their friends when we walked past.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes. We were told which businesses to avoid and where had a good record of behaviour towards staff and animals. We were advised about what to give people as a thank you and local guides were employed in Fez, Rabet, Volubius and Marrakech.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

I did. People were willing to talk and not just to get something from me this time!

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

If somebody want to visit an African country, Morocco should be the first. It has the interesting buildings and markets from Africa, but the standard of cleanliness and tidyness is more to Spainish standards than African.

Reviewed by Matthew Wyatt who travelled in November 2010

Review 7

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Camel ride in to desert and night spent in desert.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Quiet good – Yousuf was very easy to talk to and very knowledgeable about the country/culture etc

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Somewhat.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

Somewhat.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Be prepared to spend most most mornings travelling for 3 to 4 hours on a mini-bus.

Reviewed by Mohammed Masoom Patel who travelled in October 2010

Review 8

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Camel ride!

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Excellent!

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes – especially with foreign currency and exchange of ideas to gain mutual understanding.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

Yes – this type of trip enables much of the geography of the country to be explored and many locals to be met!

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Advise that food here often causes upset stomach and to eat “wisely”.

Reviewed by Peter Edmead who travelled in August 2010 on the Electric Souk trip

Review 9

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Visiting a Berber Market/Eating in a local restaurant with Moroccans.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Excellent service from tour leader and local guides. Could not fault them.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes, as the group spent money in local shops and restaurants. Also taught us about their culture and religion. I undrstand the country better now.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

More definitely.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Go with the flow and don’t compare things with home. Respect the culture and ways of the locals. Be open and friendly and you will be welcomed as a friend.

Reviewed by Jane Malcolm who travelled in June 2010

Review 10

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The complete tour was memorable though if I was to narrow to one thing it down the highlight would have been visiting Fes. I enjoyed travelling in a small group as well and experiencing the culture of Morocco and its people.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

The tour leader (Samir) was excellent and could not be faulted and was a great embassador for his own country, Morocco.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Most definitely. This was obvious with the use of local guides in the different cities/areas we visited.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

Yes. I enjoyed the culture of Morocco, its people and the food (we eat mostly where the locals eat which was great; if you eat where the locals are eating you know it is good!).

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Go with no pre conceived ideas and just embrace the culture of the country you are in.

Reviewed by Fiona Nielsen who travelled in June 2010

Review 11

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

I especially liked the Saadian Tombs in Rabat, the Medina and the Bath Museum in Fès, the ruins in Volubilis. In his turn, my husband enjoyed walking around Casablanca, the Bath Museum in Fès and the Medina. In Marrakesh we both loved the ruins of the Baadi Palace (great place to watch the sunset) and the El Bahia Palace, where we were lucky to find an interesting exhibition of contemporary art.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

The tour leader was great, very attentive to our requests and needs. We would like to suggest though more free time in each place. Most often we took longer routes which were more picturesque. Since travelling in a car is somewhat tiresome I think it would have been best to take faster highways and have more time in each place we stayed. Other than that, all of our restaurants were pre-selected by our guide. I think it would have been best to have more freedom in our choice of food at mealtimes. Though we liked Moroccan food, being vegetarian there was never a wide variety of choice for us in these restaurants.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes. We stayed in local hotels, ate in locally owned restaurants, and all ours guides were Moroccan. We also tipped generously.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

Yes, amazingly so. Especially walking around and loosing ourselves in the Medina of Fez, and in Casablanca, where we could really observe the bustle of everyday life. We also managed to buy some Moroccan literature in the “Librairie Française” in our first day in Casablanca, and read it along the tour, which gave us interesting insights into the local culture.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

We have already highly recommended Morocco and the Imaginative Traveller Tour to friends and family. We would advise other travellers to lose themselves in the old cities, to relax in the beautiful courtyards and gardens, and to try the delicious pastries.

Reviewed by Gabriela Guimar^es Gazzinelli who travelled in January 2010

Review 12

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The tour had a lot of variety – markets, culture, music, camel treks, history, etc. Also, it helped that it was only a small group (9 people).

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

The tour was all very well organised, and the tour leader was professional throughout.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes, definitely. Most accommodation seemed to be owned by local people (although this is sometimes hard to tell).

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

I think so. Considering the tour was two weeks, you wouldn’t expect to cover everything (for instance, I would have liked the chance for a lengthy hike on a day or two), but given the timeframe, it was the best the tour could do.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Morocco, being a Muslim country, is not the sort of place to go to for wild drunken parties. If that’s what you want with travel, then go elsewhere. Otherwise, if you’re interested in something a bit more in-depth and cultural, it’s worth a look.

Reviewed by Bruce Robinson who travelled in June 2006

Review 13

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The market place in Marakesh – the noise, the colour and the people.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Very helpful in giving pointers and information, out going and friendly.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Finacially yes…

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Definitely worth going on tour with a small group – more flexibility but also get to see things that you wouldn’t if you were travelling solo.

Reviewed by Elisabeth Hobbs who travelled in April 2008

Review 14

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The market place in Marakesh – the noise, the colour and the people.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Very helpful in giving pointers and information, out going and friendly.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Finacially yes…

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Definitely worth going on tour with a small group – more flexibility but also get to see things that you wouldn’t if you were travelling solo.

Reviewed by Elisabeth Hobbs who travelled in April 2008

Affordable Adventures

search

251 holidays

  • info If you're searching for a trip to fit in with a larger travel schedule, or simply have an exact idea of the city advanced search
    • Activities & Interests

need help & expert advice?
+44(0)1728862230


Sign-up for our newsletter

tailor-made adventure trips

Our tailor made adventure holidays will truly inspire and delight the senses and will live in your memory for ever.

more info


Last Minute Specials -  Up to 20% Off

Join us on one of our worldwide adventures coming up over the next few months – all guaranteed to depart, all at up to 20% off.

more info