Review 1

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

the pyramids, Abu Simbel, the donkey ride and the hot air baloon!

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Very knowleadgeable, he had tough time during ramadan. Very open minded, explained to us a lot not just about history but culture and current event.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Take it easy, Egypt was for me one of the most difficult countries I travelled to. A lot of hassle and bothering on the streets although I was wearing a scarf over my head the whole time. Once you look pass that it will be easier.

Reviewed by Karolina Gorska who travelled in July 2012

Review 2

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Probably the hot air balloon, but it was all very good,riding donkeys,camels the night on the Felucca. Memorable for all the wrong reasons, a 13 hour train trip which ended up taking 17 hours due to bad maintenance.Cairo traffic on a Sunday!!!! Wouldn’t have missed it for the world, part of lifes rich tapestry! Fabulous trip very well organised,having your own staff on the ground has to be a big plus.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Maged Bottross was actually brilliant, great fun,very laid back a delight to have on the trip.Local knowledge outstanding,He could not do enough for us.There were 5 in our party which obviously made it easier to sort out excursions, we all just went along with each other. There was never any fuss or bother, just like clockwork. Nothing ambiguous always very clear instructions,no confusion at all.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Something out of your comfort zone,The name of the Company says it all. Imaginative !

Reviewed by Richard Munday who travelled in August 2012

Review 3

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

I enjoyed everything – all of the important historical sites in Egypt but I especially enjoyed the night which we spent on the felucca and travelling to the Valley of the Kings on a donkey.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

That said, I did learn alot and probably saw more of Egypt in a week than what I would have done under my own steam.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

To anybody contemplating this tour: it’s educational and enjoyable but quite intense with lots of long journeys and early starts. I would not recommend visiting in the summer months – too hot! Remember to pack your sense of humour too. Egyptians are friendly and just as interested in us as we are in them for the most part but some of the men can be a little (towards ladies) “heavy” – especially in the souks. They don’t mean any harm though so best to just laugh about it. At the tourist attractions you will be accosted by several people trying to sell you souveniors and as annoying as their persistance can get at times you need to keep your cool and politely and firmly say no as many times as you need to! Unless you want to buy of course then don’t be afraid to haggle as they always ask tourists for extortionate prices initially. Get an idea from your tour guide as to how much he/she would pay for say an ice cream or a coke and be prepared to pay slighty more than that! Don’t forget your mosquito repellant if you plan to sail on the Nile and especially if you plan to spend a night on the felucca.

Reviewed by Claire Ricaud who travelled in April 2012

Review 4

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Amazing sights and the enthusiasm of the people – for the return of the tourists and for the future of their country

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Excellent

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes, clearly.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Be prepared to wear long sleeves and trousers for most of the trip – whatever the heat. Be prepared for very unpleasant loos on the night train. Stay with the group when running the gauntlet of hawkers – especially at the pyramids. Several individuals were ‘picked off’ and had unwanted photos on camels, side trips around the back of the pyramids, etc.

Reviewed by Robert Murray-Smith who travelled in April 2011

Review 5

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Undoubtedly seeing the pyramids for the first time as they loomed up unexpectedly above the streets of Cairo. I had no idea they were so close to the city and it truly was an awe-inspiring sight.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Ahmed was very thorough and conscientious but also fun and easy to talk to. A good combination of qualities for a tour leader and I enjoyed his company over the week.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Yes – especially people like minibus drivers, felucca owners and local restauranteurs.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

To some extent – it was only a short trip but I certainly feel I got to see Egypt warts and all through experiences like the overnight trains!

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Be prepared for quite a punishing itinerary with some very early starts and not much sleep. Those seeking home comforts will not enjoy the overnight trains or the felucca and visiting Egypt also requires a fair amount of patience as you will be confronted by people trying to sell you things and rip you off at every turn.

Reviewed by Christopher White who travelled in November 2010

Review 6

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

apart from the amazing natural and manmade landscapes that were unfolding before us, for me it was the group dynamic that made the tour so memorable. It was small but everyone was friendly, considerate and sociable and we really felt looked after by the tour leader and egyptology experts supplied.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

He was professional but added the necessary personal touch to make our group feel special, despite the fact that he must have seen those sights and answered the same questions many times.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

The only sense of benefitting local people was being taken to shops and market stalls recommended by the tour leader and an indication as to the culture of tipping. Help on a wider scale wasn’t touched on as an issue. If, for example, a local charity endorsed by the Imagnative traveller, was offered for pre-departure donations, I would have happily donated some leftover cash. I didn’t expect to see kids raking through rubbish as we went through cairo.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

It was a whirlwind tour, which I felt touched on the surface of a very interesting culture but, the nature of the constant location changes and speed at which we experienced so many things, made it naturally difficult to trully immerse yourself in it. This didn’t bother me so much as I had deliberately chosen a tour that would encompass many things in a short space of time.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Stock up on sleep before you go, to cope with all those early wake up calls!

Reviewed by Sarah Higgs who travelled in November 2010

Review 7

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

I would have to say cruising the calm blue waters of the Nile, in a Felukka and on the “Melodie” Nile boat. I could do that for weeks and weeks, I think.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Just simply wonderfully excellent! Kind, funny, well-organised and very concerned with the well-being of every group member. Mido is the best!

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Only as in that we spend our money in local restaurants and bazaars. In my view, the direct contact with the locals could be improved, f.e. by visiting a school or orphanage.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

Yes, very much. Mido taught us some very useful words and told us many things about the local life-style and ideas. Waking up at home this morning I actually missed the calling from the mosque at 4:30 in the morning! :-)

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Dive in, eat local foods, go explore the streets on your own, talk to the locals, don’t be “scared” by the hustling and bustling and the chaos (even not as a woman, they are more respectful than I ever thought!), take it with lightness and you will see the charming side of it.

Reviewed by Claire Brenn who travelled in October 2010

Review 8

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The whole experience of egypt was amazing but seeing abu simbel was probably the highlight. Seeing something so massive and detailed that is so old and still in amazing detail even after being moved.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

I would like to make a special mention of our tour leader Ahmed Badr. He was well organised, made everyone feel welcome and sorted out any problems we had with the hotels (which we’re only minor and a couple). He made the trip very enjoyable and is a credit to your company.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

yes, we visited local restaurants and used local transport.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

yes, going to the local bazzars and visiting the local restaurants and being among the locals was a very important and enjoyable part of the trip

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Do this trip, it is a must and is amazing

Reviewed by Christopher Campbell who travelled in September 2010

Review 9

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Riding donkeys through the countryside to the valley of the kings, it was the best fun i’d had in ages.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Excellent, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, always cheerful and friendly.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

We used a lot of local guides and businesses so yes I think it did.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

definately, we met a lot of local people, ate local food when possible and used public transport.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Consider your money carefully, visa was not widely used in Egypt and many of the cash machines don’t accept it, also a number of people could only get a small daily amount out which meant a lot of trips to cash machines each day. So take cash and just keep it safe.

Reviewed by Catherine Lax who travelled in October 2009

Review 10

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Riding donkeys through the countryside to the valley of the kings, it was the best fun i’d had in ages.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Excellent, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, always cheerful and friendly.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

We used a lot of local guides and businesses so yes I think it did.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

definately, we met a lot of local people, ate local food when possible and used public transport.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Consider your money carefully, visa was not widely used in Egypt and many of the cash machines don’t accept it, also a number of people could only get a small daily amount out which meant a lot of trips to cash machines each day. So take cash and just keep it safe.

Reviewed by Catherine Lax who travelled in October 2009

Review 11

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The 4 days cruising the Nile on the MS Melodie! It was so relaxing and informal and the staff on the cruise ship were amazing. All the sights we saw along the way were brilliant as well.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

We had a great Egyptian tour leader called Mohammed who was so informative and proud of his country, but in a really interesting way. He was excellent!

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Only in the fact that we were spending money in local bazaars and restaurants.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

By meeting locals and visiting local restaurants, I got to understand a little more about what makes Egypt tick and what the Egyptian people are all about.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Take a little time before the tour to read up a little bit about Egypt – and make sure you sample the Shisha!

Reviewed by Russell Morling who travelled in March 2009

Review 12

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

There were too many to single one out. Spotting the pyramids for the first time, Valley of the Kings. breakfast after climbing Mount Sinai. Dune jumping with the 12 year old jeep driver in Wadi Rum (well he only looked 12). Tutankamen’s mask, Mummies in the museum, Abu Simbel, Soldiers tombs at Petra…. and so on

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Siobhan Neverling was great.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

Probably.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

As much as can be expected and more than would expect on large company tours

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

book now. take food, drink and warm clothes to Mt Sinai. Ignore any locals who tell you to do something you don’t want to do e.g get off the hydrofoil to Jordan even though we had tickets….

Reviewed by Anne Mayho who travelled in March 2008

Review 13

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Abu Simbel and the Valley of the Kings. You have to see them to believe them.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Very good. Full of enthusiasm. Always happy to help organise other trips etc.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

We used local guides and visited the local bazaars. We often eat in local restaurants.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

As a tourist it is very difficult to get under the skin of any country, but by staying in the more ‘local’ areas you do get some flavour of what their life can be like.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Do it. Dont be afraid of haggling of being firm and saying no if you really dont want the item. Relax and enjoy meeting the people. The boat is an ideal size to meet people and get to know new friends.

Reviewed by Barrie Greenhalgh who travelled in September 2008

Review 14

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Abu Simbel and the Valley of the Kings. You have to see them to believe them.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Very good. Full of enthusiasm. Always happy to help organise other trips etc.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

We used local guides and visited the local bazaars. We often eat in local restaurants.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

As a tourist it is very difficult to get under the skin of any country, but by staying in the more ‘local’ areas you do get some flavour of what their life can be like.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Do it. Dont be afraid of haggling of being firm and saying no if you really dont want the item. Relax and enjoy meeting the people. The boat is an ideal size to meet people and get to know new friends.

Reviewed by Barrie Greenhalgh who travelled in September 2008

Review 15

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

Abu Simbel and the Valley of the Kings. You have to see them to believe them.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

Very good. Full of enthusiasm. Always happy to help organise other trips etc.

Do You Feel Your Holiday Benefited Local People?

We used local guides and visited the local bazaars. We often eat in local restaurants.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

As a tourist it is very difficult to get under the skin of any country, but by staying in the more ‘local’ areas you do get some flavour of what their life can be like.

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Do it. Dont be afraid of haggling of being firm and saying no if you really dont want the item. Relax and enjoy meeting the people. The boat is an ideal size to meet people and get to know new friends.

Reviewed by Barrie Greenhalgh who travelled in September 2008

Review 16

What Was The Most Memorable Or Exciting Part Of Your Holiday?

The Nile Cruise… somehow it zipped by.

What Did You Think Of Your Tour Leader?

excellent – professinoal, flexible, fun and easy to talk with.

Do You Feel That You Got Under The Skin Of A Country?

No – but it was a 10 day excursion… what would I expect?

What Advice Would You Give To Other Travellers?

Pack less seriously… the Melodie is quite comfortable and they even had laundry service, etc. It’s not a roughing it holiday at all.

Reviewed by April Fain who travelled in November 2007

Affordable Adventures

search

251 holidays

  • info If you're searching for a trip to fit in with a larger travel schedule, or simply have an exact idea of the city advanced search
    • Activities & Interests

need help & expert advice?
+44(0)1728862230


Sign-up for our newsletter

tailor-made adventure trips

Our tailor made adventure holidays will truly inspire and delight the senses and will live in your memory for ever.

more info


Last Minute Specials -  Up to 20% Off

Join us on one of our worldwide adventures coming up over the next few months – all guaranteed to depart, all at up to 20% off.

more info